The Easiest Gingerbread Cookie Recipe

‘Tis the season to be jolly,

falalalala lalalala

DSC09139.JPG

As soon as December begins… I pull out this cute as hell tank top. It’s basically my uniform for the month. And now with Christmas around the corner, it only means a few things

  1. time to bake some gingerbread
  2. time to decorate the whole house
  3. buy the most ridiculous gifts and trinkets for the house

I love Christmas and every little thing about it. I love the carols. I love the lights. I love the cheesy Christmas specials. I love the food. I love the sweets. I just love the festive season.

DSC09148.JPG

Sydney of course always has stinking hot Christmas days, but we still make the most of it with fun bbq’s and picnics. Even in this heat though, I always love decorating the house with fake snow and snowflakes everywhere. I always like to start the festivities on the 1st of December with putting up the Christmas tree with lights, baubles and plenty of bling.

Next on the agenda, is always the gingerbread house. I started making these last year, and decided to keep a tradition going. It’s a long process. It’s an annoying process. But damn is the end pretty πŸ™‚ I made this for my baby sisters Christmas party at school. It really is just one of those things that brings a smile to peoples faces πŸ˜€

DSC09181.JPG

This recipe is basically… fool proof. It makes for a super buttery smooth and truly yummy gingerbread. It makes the house smell absolutely incredible, and well… just try it πŸ™‚ Go and get your hands on some fun cookie cutters. I got mine for 6 bucks from target, and the gingerbread house cutters for 5 from Kmart. Oh and remember the mixed spice. You can grab a packet from your local supermarket! I would normally try sharing a recipe… but honestly… I tried doing it before and it was so awful…

The spice packer is fairly inexpensive, and hence… well… the packet makes life a little easier.

DSC09176.JPG

So here is the recipe:

ginger bread.jpg

Now to make your standard gingerbread house, you need to have royal icing! You can buy this easily from the supermarket now, but my goodness it is so much cheaper and simpler to make it your self. 3 Ingredients. That is all you need.

royal icing.jpg

Now constructing the house… well it’s all about laying down the right foundations. You might need to hold it up using a mug. My best tip, is to do a fairly rough ‘gluing’ job to start off, and pop the whole house into the fridge for sometime. This will let the icing set a little to stabilise the house before you get around to decorating any more of the house.

DSC09189.JPG

For the decorations I picked up some jelly raspberries, some rainbow chocolate gems, some mnms, some silver beads, and a few fizzy lollies. To top the whole look off… dust it all off with some icing sugar to make it look like it has just snowed. ❀

It took me 5 hours to make the house and the cookies, and then decorate everything. That is a crazy amount of time… but hey… I loved every little bit of it. Coz it’s CHRISTMASSSSS ❀

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

