Spinach and Ricotta rolls

SONY DSC

Spinach and Ricotta Rolls fresh out of the oven

We had plans to head over to the Ben and Jerry’s Open Air Cinema here in Sydney, and boy was it a fun plan. The general brief among the group was to bring some snacks and drinks along for everyone to enjoy. To me that honestly meant one thing… it’s time to pull out those snack food recipes.

I’ve made these countless times before, and my recipe remains pretty standard but a little bit different that the other ones you’ll find. To me a really good spinach and ricotta roll should have that wonderful spinach taste, with some nut-iness, some creaminess and a little bit of a kick. This doesn’t mean I want a spicy roll… it just has to give a tiny punch to make it extra special.

The smell of these is truly so wonderful, and they make for a really classic and crowd-pleasing snack. I love pulling this recipe out during the spring time for those fun outdoor activities.

Now I’m usually a little too lazy to make the pastry myself, and quite honestly just stick to some store bought puff pastry or filo. I used frozen spinach for this time round, but I often do switch between fresh and frozen. It really just depends on what you find!

SONY DSC
Wrapping these babies up

My recipe is an interesting combination of a few different recipes you have come across. I balance out the classic spinach and ricotta with a little spice from cumin, a little kick from chilli, a little tang for lemon, a little sweetness from cooked onions and a little added flavour from good ol’ garlic. Honestly I don’t think I cook without garlic at all… it is just my favourite.

Here is my recipe!!

spinachricotta

 

And bam! Snack food is sorted!

 

Leave a Reply

