Slightly healthy Peach Waffles

I actually made this a while ago, but only just decided to write this recipe up. Waffles are such a fun pick me up… I love making them for my sister. In fact whenever I make waffles or pancakes… it’s for my sister or my friends.

DSC09287.JPG

I don’t know if that is a good thing or not…

Also. Say hi to my lazy sunday pjs πŸ™‚ Yup. I cook in my pajamas.

Point is. I love waffles. My waffle maker is a little cheap, and to crisp them up a little extra I have to pop them into the oven for a bit. No shame in that. We all have fallen prey to super cheap discounts only to find them… well… not 100% perfect. It happens. We just have to find a solution to it.

In terms of waffle makers, if you don’t have one, you can alternatively use a griddle pan! Otherwise head over to kmart or target or a second hand store to grab a fairly cheap one πŸ™‚

A couple of important points for the waffles. To make them AWESOME you need to do two things,

  1. butter the entire cooking surface of the iron or pan
  2. add a touch of butter to the batter.

I have literally no idea why adding butter to the batter helps, but whenever I add it… the batter turns out fabulous.

DSC09300.JPG

Now like I said, this recipe is only slightly healthy πŸ˜› I used one part of plain flour, 1 part of self raising flour, and one part of almond meal. Oh and will some chia seeds too. πŸ˜› I think I have a slight addiction to chia seeds…

peach waffles.jpg

Now for the topping, I used some left over syrup from the christmas roast the day before. My best friend made a Delicious coconut and lemon cake with a lemon and cardamon syrup. The syrup itself is super simple! Some sugar, some cardamon, and some water. Add a bit of butter to give it colour. Our syrup was thrown out twice in one day because it was mistaken for water. I added some fresh whipped cream and silvered almonds too πŸ˜›

DSC09292.JPG

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

