Lahori Fish (Fried Fish)

I had a friend suggest that I make moreeee Indian foods, or Indian fusion food, considering that , well, I am of Indian heritage. Hearing that, I thought why not? I mean I do cook Indian food at home, and I am always trying new things with the recipes… and I’ve been experimenting a tonnnnnne with Halwas (stay tuned for some more fun Halwa recipes!)

So I tried Lahori fish years ago after my sisters ballet recital at a restaurant near the venue. I loved it so much, but never tried to make it, nor did I ever order it again. It was light, and moist, and crunchy. Served with a truly delicious mint chutney and yogurt, the piping hot fish went so perfectly with the cool condiments. The coating was super crunchy, and spicy with just a hint of a tang from the mango powder and lemon juice in the mixture. It was love.

SONY DSC
how can you not fall in love with this.

But then. At a friend’s wedding. I saw it on the menu.

It was destiny.

Okay enough weird cheesiness. The point is… I was inspired to make Lahori Fish at home because it really is super tasty. The recipe is quite simple, and is one of the few times I am happy to say you don’t need to marinade the fish. Lahori fish kind of turns out like spicy fish nuggets, with truly moist fish underneath a yummy crunchy and crispy coating. Packed with chili,Β more spices, and a hint of lemon juice, this fish is definitively going to be a favorite at your dinner table.

Before continuing with this recipe, I’m going to say it once here and repeat it below… use all dry spices!! The only moisture in this recipe should be from the water and lemon juice. I know it may seem okay to substitute the dried garlic with fresh garlic… but this would just burn while frying and you will end up bitter burnt portions over your fish. On the other hand you might end up with undercooked fish in an attempt to stop the garlic from burning! So just… don’t do it. okay?

Now. Before anyone comments that Lahore is not in India… yes I am aware of that. Lahori fish gets its name from Lahore in Pakistan, but is a recipe that I’ve seen throughout the northern regions of India by the same name.

SONY DSC

The first thing you MUST notice about the spice mix… is how incredibly strong it is! Be careful though, when I took a little whiff of it… I started to sneeze immediately. I guess I should try the same mix on something like chicken or turkey… but that is for next time πŸ™‚

Here is the easy peasy recipe!

lahori fried fish.jpg

There is a fair bit of room to try a few new things in this recipe. For example, instead of dried mango powder, using dried pomegranate powder or tamarind (Yes we Indian Subcontinental people cook with pomegranate too:P). Additionally, you could use the same batter on calamari and shrimp/prawns. I wouldn’t however recommend using red fish (like salmon or tuna) to make this recipe, but any other white fish would work. Something like a good quality monk-fish would work wonderfully (monk-fish isn’t available here in Sydney though!)! Maybe I’ll try the same recipe on some good quality pomfret….

On this note, you can buy the pre made spice mixes from the Indian/Pakistani grocery stores. I find however these contain a LOT of salt, and don’t include the turmeric, the lemon or the . You can ofc add these seperately!!

Before I do conclude this recipe, I want to say a big fat sorry for not taking pictures while making the fish!! My hands were covered in the batter, and no one was home to help me out! Regardless, I hope you all enjoyed this easy fish recipe. Let me know what you think and share your photos with me too!! Also… tell me if you enjoy these desi recipes! If you want more, leave a comment for me πŸ™‚

 

DSC09600.JPG

 

 

Leave a Reply

